top of page
  • emmadav04

Just when you thought it was safe to go back in the water?


Reflection/ Description:


The link above should take you to a story Maci Carney and I did on the risks of surfing here in Hawaii. For our Journalism 200 class final we decided to make a multimedia track audio story as well as an article that gives a lot of insight not only into the risks of surfing but also some tips on staying safe in the ocean. I enjoyed making this project partly because I love surfing, and any chance I get to incorporate that into my school work is very fun. But also because as a surfer, and hearing about the recent shark attack at Kewalos, I think everyone should be informed on what to do if you do encounter a shark in the water. Just remember, this is their home, not ours, so we must coexist! I think the hardest part of the project for me was figuring out how the direction I wanted to take with the story. Maci and I had wanted to talk about the recent shark attack and its effect on surfers but after conducting a few interviews we broadened our scope to a wider range of risks and other aspects of surf culture here on Oahu. This class taught me a lot about the process of interviewing, audio editing, and of course writing! While this is the last assignment I hope to continue posting on here regularly with new stories throughout Honolulu!

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Multi-track Audio Script

1 MACI: First Fridays is a monthly event that showcases the vibrant art and cultural scene of Honolulu's Chinatown. I'm your host, Maci...

Yorumlar


bottom of page