top of page
  • emmadav04

First Friday Art Event: multi-track audio story

Updated: Apr 12, 2023




First Friday is one of the largest art events in Honolulu. It happens on the first friday of every month. This project I worked on with a friend of mine, Maci Carney. The audio story describes some of the details of this event, specifically for the event thrown my Hawaii State Art Museum. It also introduces people to art whilst bringing the community together.


Solomon's Interactive Art
Live Music on the HSAM patio
First Friday Vendors

Reflection:

Originally when I went to the First Friday event I was planning on interviewing anyone. However, by the time I arrived, and talked to a few of the attendees, I decided that there were many stories to be reported. I worked on this project with a friend of mine, Maci Carney.


I think the hardest part of this assignment was editing the audio and figuring out how to use the software. Trying to develop an audio style using elements, from interviews, voiceovers, and natural sound, became quite a challenge over a few days. While adding in all the clips was quite easy I struggled a little with fading and overlapping the sounds.


While we were working on this project, I kept being reminded of, "Always Get The Name of Dog" from our weekly readings. Going into this project with the thought in my head that I should always get all the details, even the seemingly unimportant ones because oftentimes those are what make the story. It reminds me how sometimes the best story is not the one you planned for, and oftentimes the "name of the dog" is the difference between a good story, and a great story.
















5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Multi-track Audio Script

1 MACI: First Fridays is a monthly event that showcases the vibrant art and cultural scene of Honolulu's Chinatown. I'm your host, Maci...

Comments


bottom of page